Georgia Driver Education Frequently Asked Questions
Does this course meet my classroom education requirements?
Yes, this course will satisfy the Joshua's Law classroom requirement which consists of a 30-hour driver education program
Why is it called Joshua's Law?
Joshua's Law was enacted in 2005 and changed the requirements for teens seeking a Class D license. It was named after Joshua Brown, who tragically lost his life in a car accident in 2003 when he was a senior in high school.
How do I get the tax credit?
The parent or guardian of a teen who takes a DDS-approved driver education course becomes eligible for a tax credit under Georgia law. The tax credit will equal the cost of the course or up to $150, whichever is less.
Note: this credit only applies to driving courses offered through the private sector. Courses taken with public institutions like a high school will not qualify.
The claiming taxpayer must complete a Georgia Form IND-CR and include it with a Form 500 when he/she files her taxes and must be provided to the Georgia Department of Revenue. Proof of the teen's successful completion of the course must also be included, which we provide in the form of a downloadable certificate.
This tax credit is only valid once in a child's lifetime.
What do I do after finishing the course?
Please review the three-step process to becoming a fully licensed driver in Georgia provided on the Course Details page.
How do I get my certificate?
After you've successfully completed the course, the certificate will be emailed to you within 1-2 business days. Please be sure you check your spam folder, as sometimes our emails will arrive there. Once you receive the email, you can instantly download your certificate.
Where can I complete my 40 hours of supervised driving?
You have two options. First: complete 6-hours of driving with a DDS-certified instructor and complete 40-hours of behind-the-wheel practice. Second: complete the DDS-approved Parent-Teen Driving Guide.
What is the parent/teen driving guide?
The Parent-Teen Driving Guide is a handbook that guides parents and teen through in-car lessons to help teen complete the 40-hour driving experience requirement. This can be used in conjunction with a 30-hour Joshua's Law course.
Do I get an insurance discount for taking this course?
Taking this course will qualify some parents for insurance discounts depending on their provider and policy. Please contact your insurance company to see what options are available to you.
What is the different between a Provisional Class D License and a Full Class C License?
A Class D License is still not considered a fully-licensed driver and includes some restrictions, whereas a Class C License means you have the legal right to drive without any restrictions. For a list of restrictions, please visit drivers ed course details.
Do my parents need to come with me to get my license?
Yes, your parent or guardian will need to be present to sign your application.
What is the Georgia Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP)?
The ADAP is a course every teen under the age of 18-years old must take to obtain a Class D driver's license. The course is usually offered through a high school but if that option is not available to you, you can take the EADAP, which is an online version of the program.
How do I get my driver's license if I'm moving to Georgia?
If you're moving to Georgia and already have a permit, you must transfer it within 30 days of becoming a Georgia resident. You will have to surrender your current permit or license and still must meet Georgia's age requirements. Georgia requires teens to hold an Instructional Permit for a minimum of 12 months and 1 day before applying for a Class D license. The time you held a permit in another state will count towards this requirement.