Florida TLSAE Drug and Alcohol Course
First-time drivers in the state of Florida need to complete a 4-hour Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course before they can apply for a learner's permit. This training is also known as the Drug, Alcohol, and Traffic Awareness (DATA) course.
Our Florida DMV-approved TLSAE course explains how alcohol and other drugs affect your ability to drive. You'll also learn about driving laws and responsibilities, safe driving techniques, and how to increase your awareness on the road.
You must be at least 14 years old to take the Drug and Alcohol course, and you can apply for your learner's permit at age 15. After you complete your training and pass the lesson quizzes and final exam, we will automatically report your course completion to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
Online Drug and Alcohol (DATA) Course
You can meet the Drug and Alcohol course requirement for your learner's permit 100% online with our 4-hour TLSAE course.
We also offer a convenient course bundle that includes everything you need to meet all your permit requirements online. Our bundle includes the TLSAE course, an online permit exam, and an exam prep course to help you pass your permit exam the first time.
DATA Course Benefits:
- FL DHSMV-authorized
- 100% online course
- Guaranteed to pass
- We'll automatically report your completion to the DHSMV
- Meet your learner's permit course requirement!
Satisfy Your Court-Ordered DATA Course Requirement
If you are a minor driver whose license was suspended for driving under the influence, you can also take this course to fulfill your court-ordered TLSAE requirement. Upon completing the course, you can apply for a hardship license at the DHSMV.
Licensed drivers may also be ordered by a court to complete the TLSAE course after committing certain drug- or alcohol-related offenses. Our course can also help you meet this requirement.
About the Florida Drug and Alcohol Course Test
To meet Florida's DATA course requirement, you must pass seven lesson quizzes and a test at the end of the course. You have an unlimited number of attempts to pass each quiz and the final exam, so you're guaranteed to pass!
You need to score 100% on each lesson quiz before you can advance to the next section, but you can take as much time as you need.
For the final exam, you must score at least 80% to pass. The exam has 40 questions, and you have up to three hours to finish.
In order to take the course and your Florida permit exam, you will need to provide proof of identity in the form of a Social Security number or Alien Registration Number. Other names for Alien Registration Number include A-Number, Alien Number or USCIS Number. This seven- to nine-digit number can be found on your green card or a variety of other immigration documents.
What Will I Learn in the TLSAE Course?
The TLSAE course is divided into seven lessons that explain major Florida traffic laws and the dangers of alcohol and illicit drugs. Each lesson has a minimum time requirement that you must meet before advancing to the next section.
You can review a full breakdown of the course lessons and topics below.
Course Introduction (15 Minutes)
- Substance Use/Abuse Questionnaire
- Collision Awareness Module
Lesson 1: Physiological Factors (20 Minutes)
- Alcohol and Drug Absorption and Elimination
- Short-Term Effects on the Body
- Long-Term Effects on the Body
- Effects of Different Types of Drugs
Lesson 2: Physiological Factors Part Two (40 Minutes)
- Synergistic Effect
- Equivalency of Alcoholic Drinks
- Physiological Aspects of Use, Abuse, Dependence, and Addiction
- Warning Labels
- Dealing with Stress, Fatigue, Emotional Distress, and Attitude
Lesson 3: Psychological Factors (35 Minutes)
- Psychological Aspects of Use, Abuse, Dependence, and Addiction
- The Cost of Addiction
- Personal/Economic Costs and Legal Problems
- Loss of Judgment
- Alcohol as a Gateway Drug
- The Use of Alcohol
Lesson 4: Societal and Economic Costs of Alcohol and Drug Abuse (20 Minutes)
- Cost of Alcohol and Drug Abuse in the Operation of a Motor Vehicle
- The Risk to Sober Drivers from Drunk Drivers
- How Impaired Driver Action Affects Others
- Preventing Drinking and Driving
Lesson 5: Effect of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse on the Driver of a Motor Vehicle (40 Minutes)
- Effects of Alcohol and Other Drugs
- Effects of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse on Motor Skills and Vision
- Category of Drugs and How They Affect Driving
- When Does Impairment Begin?
- Ways to Avoid Impaired Driving
Lesson 6: Major Traffic Laws of Florida (35 Minutes)
- Graduated Licensing and Insurance Requirements
- Alcohol-Related Driving Laws
- Your Driving Privilege
- Safety Equipment
Lesson 7: Major Traffic Laws of Florida Part Two (35 Minutes)
- Basic-Driving Laws
- Basic-Driving Laws and Concepts
- Additional Considerations
What Are the Steps to Getting a Florida Learner's Permit?
Florida requires you to meet several requirements to get your learner's permit:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Pass a Drug and Alcohol course (TLSAE)
- Pass a vision and hearing test
- Pass the Florida permit exam (Class E Knowledge Exam)
- Provide proof of identity, Social Security number and residential address
- Provide a signed and notarized Parental Consent Form
Our all-in-one learner's permit bundle includes the TLSAE course, online permit exam, and exam prep resources. You will need to visit a Florida DMV location to take your vision and hearing test and provide your documents for proof of identity and address.