Does the learner's permit course meet Florida licensing requirements?
Yes. The learner's permit course and exam are authorized by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) to meet the requirements needed for your first Florida learner's permit.
Can I take the permit test on its own?
Yes. You can complete the permit test by itself to meet your DHSMV learner's permit exam requirement. You do not need to purchase our bundle that includes exam prep and the drug and alcohol course. Visit the permit exam page to register now.
What score do I need to get to pass the permit exam?
To meet state requirements to get your permit, you must score 80% or higher on the permit exam. The exam has 50 questions, so you must answer at least 40 questions correctly to pass. As soon as you answer 40 questions correctly, the exam will automatically end and you will pass the test. Likewise, the exam will automatically end if you answer 11 questions incorrectly.
How long is the permit exam?
You have up to 1 hour to complete the permit exam, but you may finish sooner. If you achieve a passing or failing score before the time limit expires, the exam will automatically end.
How many chances do I have to pass the permit exam?
After you register for the exam, you have one attempt to pass. If you fail the exam because of your score, an incorrect response to a security question or a course timeout, you will need to pay the fee to register again.
The DHSMV allows you to attempt the online exam up to three times. If you do not pass the online exam after three attempts, you will be required to take the exam in person.
How do security questions work during the permit exam?
Throughout the exam, you are required to answer security questions to prove your identity. Before the test begins, you must answer 10 questions about yourself. You will be prompted to answer these same questions at random points in the exam, and you have 60 seconds to respond correctly. If you answer more than three security questions incorrectly, your exam will be terminated and you will have to re-register.
What happens after I complete the permit exam?
We will automatically report your information to the DHSMV.
What is the drug and alcohol course?
While the Florida DHSMV uses the official name Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE), there are several other names for the course. It is also called the drug and alcohol course, the DATA course, the first-time driver course and the permit course.
Is there an age requirement for the online permit exam?
Yes. You must be under 18 to take the online permit exam. Students 18 and up are required to take the permit exam in person at a DHSMV location.
How do I complete my written exam?
We offer the DHSMV written exam online. You also have the option of completing the permit and license exam prep, which will help you pass the exam and prepare for your license.
Who needs to take the TLSAE course?
Before applying for a Florida learner's permit, students who never held a driver's license must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course.
How long is the TLSAE course?
The TLSAE course is a total of 4 hours.
What is the permit prep?
The permit and license prep is a resource of materials that will help you get your first time driver license. You can use the prep to prepare for your online exam, written exam or any other DHSMV test required to get your license.
What documents do I need to take to the DHSMV?
- If you are under the age of 18, you need a parental consent form. It must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner or notary. You can access the form on the DHSMV website.
- Proof of identity, social security number and residential address. Learn more about the required documents on the DHSMV website.
Do I need anything else to get my permit?
If you've successfully completed the course and the exam, schedule your appointment (we give you this option with the permit prep), and bring the appropriate documents to the DHSMV. That's all you need!
How do I get a list of the Florida DHSMV locations?
Visit this link to find a local DHSMV office: http://www.safemotorist.com/Florida/DMV_Locations/
How do I get access to the Florida Driver License Handbook?
You can find a free digital copy of the Official Florida Driver License Handbook on the DHSMV website.