Illinois Driver Education Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to take an Adult Driver Education course?

Adult drivers ages 18 to 20 who are applying for an Illinois driver license for the first time and who have never completed a driver education course before will need to take a 6-hour Adult Driver Education course in order to obtain their first license. Students can begin the Adult Driver Ed course as early as 17 and 3 months to apply for a license when they are 18.

Why should I take my driver education training online?

Our online driver ed course is available 24/7 from the comfort of your own home. Students don't have to worry about securing transportation to and from a classroom and spending hours listening to a driver ed instructor, who may not present all necessary information. Our online only course format is the ultimate in convenience and is also often significantly less expensive than other driver ed options.

How old do I have to be to take the course?

Drivers who take the Adult Driver Education 6-hour course will need to be at least 18 years old to receive their first driver's license. That said, students under the age of 18 can register for and complete the course, but will not be able to apply for their license until they are 18.

How long is the course?

Our Secretary of State approved course (and any other approved Adult Driver Ed course) is the minimum 6 hours in length. The course is broken up into 7 modules.

Do I need to take behind-the-wheel training?

Adults over the age of 18 do not need to take any official behind-the-wheel training per Illinois law. As with all applicants for a license, though, you will need to pass the behind-the-wheel driving test during your license application, so it is encouraged that you have plenty of behind-the-wheel training before applying.

How do I get my Illinois driver's license?

Adults looking to get their first license will need to take our Adult Driver Education course, then visit their local SPS office to take their written, vision and behind-the-wheel exams. To learn more about the process to get your first driver's license, please visit our Driver's License page.

Do I need an Instruction Permit?

An Illinois Instruction Permit (or learner's permit) is not required for adults 18 and older to apply for their license, but it is the only way to receive behind-the-wheel practice before taking the Illinois driving test. Adults ages 17 years and 3 months or older can apply for an instruction permit without taking a driver ed course, and since those students will be applying for their license after they turn 18, are also eligible to complete the Adult Driver Ed course.

If you have already received your Instruction Permit, you will need to submit a scanned copy to us before you can complete your Adult Driver Ed course. Don't worry - we make the process nice and easy and explain it all during your course!

What information is included in the course content?

The course covers a variety of topics that are applicable to Illinois drivers and first time drivers, including: traffic laws; accident factors; risk management and decision making; safety devices; distracted driving; highway signs, signals and markings; right-of-way; impaired and drunk driving; speed; and night driving. By the end of the course, students should be comfortable and familiar with traffic laws and other safety topics that will help them to become better drivers.

Can I take the course on my phone/iPad/tablet/mobile device?

The course is mobile compatible and can be taken on most tablets and mobile devices with internet connection. The course does feature mandatory voice identification; we recommend having a separate phone you can use for voice verification.

Do you report my completion directly to the Secretary of State?

Yes, we will report your completion to the Secretary of State, who will issue your certificate.

When will I receive my certificate?

Once you have completed your course, we will report your completion to the Secretary of State, who will issue your certificate to you via e-mail. Once you receive the e-mail from the state, you will need to print your completion certificate from the state website and bring the certificate to the Secretary of State (DMV) location when you apply for your license.

Do I need to take a test at the Secretary of State facility when I apply for my license?

Yes. While you will take a final exam and quizzes during your six hour course, you will still be required to take and pass written, vision and behind-the-wheel tests at the Secretary of State facility in order to get your license.