Course Details

Online Driver Ed for Teens 15–17

In the state of Texas, the Department of Licensing and Registration (TDLR) requires teens to complete a driver education course before applying for their learner's permit and driver's license for the first time. This requirement can be met in the comfort of your own home with a parent administering the course material to the student through a Parent-Taught Driver Education Course or the student can complete the requirements without parental supervision through our Online Texas Driver Education Course.

  • Parent-Taught Driver Ed
    Those opting for Parent-Taught course can begin as soon as you have received approval from the TX TDLR, which typically occurs within three weeks.
  • Self-Taught Driver Ed
    Students who opt for our Self-Taught course can start as soon as they register for the course.

Once you have completed either of the above online driver ed courses and 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training (with at least 10 hours of night driving practice), you may apply for your provisional driver's license. Your certificate of completion will be available for instant download. Bring this and all other required forms to the DPS where you must successfully complete a road test to earn your driver's license.

Adult Driver Ed for Adults 18–24

Those between the ages of 18–24 must take an Adult Driver Education Course. However, they may take our self-taught Online Texas Driver Education or Parent-Taught Driver Education if preferred. The adult course does not require you to take a permit exam. Simply complete our online course at your own pace. Upon a successful completion of our 6-hour course, you will be sent a certificate of completion within 7–15 business days. Once you have your certificate, take it to your local DPS along with the other required documentation. There you will be asked to pass a vision and driving skill test. Upon passing, you will receive your Texas Driver's License.

Adult Driver Ed for Adults 25+

While Adult Driver Ed is optional for those 25 and older, it is still highly recommended for all first-time drivers in the state of Texas. You'll learn essential driving topics such as Texas traffic laws, driving in adverse conditions, car safety features, motor vehicle basics, accident avoidance, high-speed environments, road rules and much more.