Is this the course to get my Ohio Driver's License?
Yes, this course satisfies the 24 hour classroom instruction requirement for getting a Driver Education Certificate, needed to obtain an Ohio Driver's License. Please note: Our course does not apply for the Abbreviated Adult Driver Training course.
Is this the only thing I need to get a driver's license in Ohio?
In order to apply for your first driver's license, you will also need to complete 8 hours of driver training with a certified instructor, and 50 hours (at least 10 at night) of behind the wheel training with a parent/guardian.
Is this the course to get my Ohio learner's permit?
You do not need to take a course to obtain a learner's permit, also known as a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC). Our Permit Prep course can help prepare you for the written permit exam, and our Driver Education course satisfies the requirements for obtaining your first Ohio driver's license.
When will I receive my Certificate of Enrollment?
After you complete the first two hours of the course, your Certificate of Enrollment will be sent to the shipping address on file via USPS First Class Mail.
When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?
After you have completed your driver's ed course, your Certificate of Completion will be sent to the shipping address on file via USPS First Class Mail.
My parent does not have a driver's license. Can I complete the 50 Hour Driving Practice requirement with him/her in the car?
The adult in the car MUST have a valid license.
My older sibling has a license; can I complete the 50 Hour Driving Practice requirement with him/her in the car?
The adult in the car must be at least 21 years of age. If your sibling has a license and is over 21, you may practice with him/her in the car.
Once I complete the course, and the 8-hour and 50-hour driving training requirements, can I get my license?
Once you've completed all of your training and practice requirements, you will need to go to a BMV location with a Driver Exam Station and pass a vision exam, written exam, and the two-part road test in order to apply for your Ohio driver's license.
Can I just walk in to an Ohio BMV for the road test?
It is best to make an appointment so that you don't end up waiting a long time. Appointments can be made on the Ohio BMV website.
I wear glasses and/or contacts, am I going to fail the vision exam?
You can wear corrective lenses during the exam if you need them, and it will be noted on your license that you must wear corrective lenses while driving.
How does the Ohio BMV know that I actually completed the 50 hours of driving practice with an adult?
The adult who oversaw your driving practice must fill out a Fifty Hour Affidavit. Falsifying this document is punishable by fine and/or jail time. It is in your best interest to practice as much as possible with a responsible adult in the car, so it is not advisable to falsify your driving practice time. Chances are you will not pass the road test without adequate practice as well.
Once I meet all the requirements, will my driver's license be the same as any other adult's?
16 and 17 year olds in the state of Ohio are given probationary licenses, which come with some restrictions.
Once I get my license, can I start driving all my friends around?
Drivers 16 years of age can only drive with one person under the age of 21 who is not a family member in the vehicle. Once you are 17 this rule no longer applies.
Who is considered a "family member" and can be in the car with me?
The state of Ohio considers the following to be family members: parents, siblings, grandparents, aunts, uncles, parent-in-laws, sibling-in-laws, step parents, step siblings, half siblings, spouse, child, and step child.
Can I drive any time of day once I get my license?
Drivers who are 16 years of age cannot drive between 12:00 am and 6:00 am, unless accompanied by an adult. Drivers who are 17 years of age cannot drive between 1:00 am and 5:00 am, unless accompanied by an adult or unless they are driving to/from school or work.
What happens if I get a ticket with a probationary license?
If you are given a ticket for a moving violation within 6 months of earning your license, you will no longer be allowed to drive without a licensed adult in the car for a 6 month period, or until you turn 17 (whichever comes first). Other traffic infractions or drinking-related offenses can come with harsher penalties.