What is a learner's permit?
In Florida, a learner's permit is basically a restricted license. It means the state recognizes your capability to drive, but has yet to make you a full-licensed driver who has no time or passenger restrictions.
Who can a permitted driver drive with in Florida?
Drivers with a permit in Florida must be accompanied by an adult who is 21 years or older, who is in the front passenger seat.
How old must you be to take Florida's permit test online?
You must be at least 15 years old to obtain a Florida permit. So you can take the test one you turn 15 years old.
What to study for the Florida permit test?
How many questions are on the driving test for a permit in Florida?
The test consists of 50 questions, 25 of which are on road rules and 25 on road signs. You must answer at least 40 questions correctly to pass.
How many questions can you miss on Florida's permit test?
On Florida's permit test you can miss 10 of the 50 questions and still pass.
Can you get your permit on your 15th birthday?
Yes, you can get a permit as soon as you are 15 years old if you have met the other requirements, which include passing the permit exam and completing a Traffic Laws and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course, also known as DATA or Drug and Alcohol course.
I passed my permit test online, now what?
If you just passed your online permit test, it's time to visit your local DHSMV and get your permit! You won't need to take any tests, but you will need to bring proof of your identity, social security number, residential address, and money for the $48 dollar fee. Contact your local dmv for a full list of appropriate documents.
What hours can you driver with a permit in Florida?
You may driver during daylight hours with a permit in Florida for the first three months. After three accident free months, you may drive until 10:00 pm.
How much does the learner permit cost in Florida?
Florida's learner permit fee is $48.00. This doesn't include the cost for the permit test or the DATA/TLSAE course.