California First Time Driver FAQs
Is this course approved by the state of California?
Yes, this course is approved by the California DMV to fulfill the driver education requirements for earning a learner’s permit and driver’s license.
How long is the course?
The course is a total of 30 hours including breaks, as mandated by California state law.
Do I have to complete each unit in one sitting?
No, the units can be split into as many sessions as you like. Log out and log back in when it is convenient for you. The course will save your progress.
What is the course like?
The course is split into 15 units that cover topics such as road signs, pedestrian safety, effects of alcohol, road rage and more. The information is delivered via slides with text, pictures, and charts that help to reinforce these concepts.
When will I receive my certificate of completion?
Your certificate will be shipped 5 to 7 business days after you complete the course. We also offer expedited shipping options if you would like your certificate sooner.
Will I still need to take a written test at the DMV?
Yes, in order to get your permit you will need to take a road sign and traffic law test at the DMV.
What else do I need to get my permit?
In addition to a certificate of completion from the driver education course you will need to fill out form DL 44 and your parent will need to sign it as well (available at the DMV), as well as provide your social security number, verify your identity, pay an application fee, give a finger print, pass a vision test and pass the road sign and traffic law test. More details on the types of identification required can be found on the California DMV website.
Can I begin the course before I am 15 ½ years old?
California state law requires that students do not begin driver education or obtain their learner’s permit until the age of 15 ½. You will need to wait until then to register for the course.
What if I have questions while taking the course?
Customer support is available 24/7 through email, live chat, or by calling 1-888-349-8425.