California Provisional Permit
If you are between the ages of 15 ½ and 17 ½ you must complete a driver education program in order to obtain a Provisional Permit, commonly referred to as a Learner’s Permit. This requirement can be met by taking our convenient online course. Once you have completed this course, you can take your certificate of completion to the DMV where you will complete a vision test and a traffic laws and sign test.
California Provisional License
To obtain a California Provisional Driver’s License, you must
- Be at least 16 years old
- Have held a learner’s permit for 6 months
- Complete a driver education course
- Complete 6 hours of professional driver training
- Complete 50 hours of behind the wheel training with a licensed parent or guardian. At least 10 hours must be at night.
If you are between 17 ½ and 18 years old, you do not need to complete a driver education program but you still must pass the vision test as well as the traffic laws and sign test at the DMV to obtain a permit. You will not be able to take the driving test for your license until you are 18 years old.